I did it!!

The last time I wrote something in here I was about a month and a few weeks out from running in my very first marathon!! And I was also in the middle of a constant challenge with myself to eat better/lose weight. Well that challenge was out on the back burner until I was done with this marathon. I didn’t want to change my ways so late in my training so I just tried to eat like I normally did with a few tweaks to eat healthier. I basically eat pretty healthy on a regular basis.. Eat a lot of chicken, veggies, fruits.. My weakness is dessert & snacks — chocolate, ice cream, cookies, anything bad for you.. I’d probably eat it.

Anyway, so back to the one thing I’ve been looking forward to and dreading at the same time– my marathon. I was never able to get in my 20 mile run in because it so conveniently fell on Easter Sunday, and didn’t have the ummph to do it the weekend after then I just felt like it was too late & interfered with my tapering. So my longest training run was 18 miles. But I felt absolutely AMAZING during that run so I didn’t feel as bad for not doing my 20-miler.

Tapering was difficult for me– I normally hit the gym at least 5-6 days a week, sometimes 2x a day, and have classes I like to attend. It was hard limiting my workout time and thinking it was helping me in the long run..(no pun intended!! Lol) I had to keep reminding myself that it was essential for my body to get some well needed rest and not to freak out about missing my quality time with Gym. The last week, I made sure to get essential carbs in the days leading up to the race, drink water (prob didn’t drink as much as I should’ve of), and to just mentally prepare myself for this adventure. The day before race day I tried to stay busy to keep my mind and nerves at ease. I ended up keeping busy way too late bc I didn’t eat my last carb meal until about 930-10pm, set out my clothes, and didn’t get to bed until 11ish.. And by bed I mean laying there, tossing and turning, my mind racing, my nerves sky rocketing, and just worried about all the bad things that could happen and wondering if I was really ready or what the fuck I was thinking doing this!

20140514-153545.jpg

RACE DAY:::
I woke up excited and anxious that all my training, dieting, and hard work was being put to the test. I ate some whole grain waffles with peanut butter, bananas, and maple syrup, drank 20 oz of water, and then got ready. My sister picked me up, dropped me off at the start and she left to go park and cheer me on. The morning was cloudy and chilly at 50 degrees, but it was absolutely perfect weather for running!!

20140514-155223.jpg

7 am came around, I lined up to begin, and I took one last breath as they horn sounded to send us off. The people cheering, bells ringing, signs made, and pictures being taken made this all worth while already! My first couple miles I ran a lot faster than I was training for (about 2 -3 min faster!), mile 7 came the start of the hills I’ve been dreading since the course came out– mile 10 I was done with the hills and still ahead of my goal pace. Mile 13 came around and I was feeling absolutely great, 2:01 was my time so far.. If I kept this up I could beat my goal time by quite a bit! Mile 15 came up and leg cramps started creeping, started drinking more Gatorade, eating gels, and doing a run/walk sequence. Mile 20 came up and those cramps were neverending– still I tried to run when I could, but ended up walking a lot more of the last 6 miles than I wanted to. Mile 25 hit… “1 more mile” I thought. As I got to 25.5 miles, told myself that I NEEDED to run the last .7 miles… So I did– pushed thru the pain and just told myself that the faster I get to the finish, the sooner I could stop running and the pain would stop. As I came around the corner, heading towards the finish my heart dropped, my frown turned to an all out smile, my eyes were blurry from the tears forming and my pain seemed to automatically seem so small. I crossed that finish line and I honestly wanted to collapse right then and there, but I walked to meet up with my sister & husband…. Then I collapsed!

20140514-155251.jpg
^^ this is me just a few feet from the finish line 🙂

I this this post has been long enough for people to read so I will continue tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a comment